Organizations   BACK
Canadian Society of Painters in Water Colour

On Nov. 11, 1925, Fred Brigden (considered the dean of Canadian Watercolour), as well as A.J. Casson and Franklin Carmichael both considered radical artists of the day initiated the Canadian Society of Painters in Watercolour in the library of the Arts & Letters Club in Toronto, Ontario. Nine other legendary names were included in the 12 founders; such as C.W. Jeffreys, Frank S. Haines, Frank Johnson, Robert Gagen, L.A.C. Panton, Robert Holmes, T.G. Green, Andre Lupine, J.E. Sampson, W.J. Phillips, Paul Alfred and Florence H. McGillivray. Since then the society has grown and changed attracting many of Canada's best known artists, including Charles Comfort, Carl Schaefer, Pegi Nicole-McLeod, Andre Bieler, David Milne, Jack Bush, Jock MacDonald, Paraskeva Clark, Doris McCarthy and Jack Shadbolt.

Paul Duval, the noted art commentator, once wrote:

" some sorcery of its own, the society manages to bring together official academicians, established "independents" and young experimental painters. This last feature is one of the most valuable and comendable functions of the W.S. - it is consistently on the alert for fresh life reaching down even further and striving harder to present new talent than probably any other national group".